About Us


BUSOM History

BUSOM is in its relative infancy, having been formed in 2001. However, it does have a past. BUSOM evolved from BUGSS (Bradford University Gilbert & Sullivan Society) due to a desire to broaden both its appeal to a wider audience and variety in repertoire. It has certainly achieved this and now aims to explore the new and obscure as well as enjoying the old favourites.

BUSOM, like BUGSS before it, is open to all, from those who wish to take centre stage to those who wish to stay behind the scenes.

A short history of our predecessor, BUGSS

In 1990 the Fellow in Music, Graham Coatman, put on a scratch performance of ‘Trial by Jury’, to introduce new people to music at the University. This resulted in the formation of a Gilbert & Sullivan Society at the University in the May with John Tate, Robert Dirk and Helen Korndorffer as the founding committee. The D’Oyly Carte charitable trust contributed a one off donation to assist with start-up costs.

The first staged performance was HMS Pinafore. A scratch performance was held at the start of the new term to encourage people to join the chorus, the casting having already taken place so that solos could be learnt over the summer. There was a small turn out, but enough to make a production viable. William Hale, a lecturer from the Department of Environmental Science was recruited to direct and produce the show, with Paul Groves as Musical Director. The aim was to stage the show in the University’s Great Hall. However, this was not possible, so the Fellow in Theatre was approached with a view to using Theatre in the Mill. The only slot left was a Monday and Tuesday in early January 1991, so serious rehearsals began apace.

The society continued to stage a G&S operetta each spring in the Theatre in the Mill as well as holding occasional concerts. In 2001, the society relocated to the Priestley Centre for its performance of ‘The Mikado’.

BUSOM Exec 2016-2017 (Contact)

  • President: Carys Nevard
  • Vice President: Hannah Dixon
  • Treasurer: Jo Nicholas
  • Secretary: Zainab Ojulari
  • Web Officer: Lucy Stephenson
  • Spurious and Irrelevant Officer: Naomi Fowler


Comments are closed.